Evgeniy Serafimovich Pyatnitskiy

E.S. Pyatnitskiy
22.07.1936 - 03.04.2003

Evgeniy Serafimovich Pyatnitskiy was born on the 22nd of July 1936. He was an eminent scientist who made his contribution into the formation and development of the control theory both in our country and abroad, the scientist whose name was given to the conference.

Evgeniy Serafimovich was born in a teacher's family in the village of Podbelevec, which is now part of the town of Mtsensk in the Orel region. He finished a secondary school in Mtsensk in 1955. Then he went to Moscow and graduated from the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT) and became qualified in aerodynamics in  1960.

After his graduation he was taken on by the MIPT as a junior member of its teaching and research staff. In 1963 he obtained the Ph.D. degree on defending the thesis titled “On Sructural Stability of the Regulation Systems”.

In 1966 he was appointed academic associate professor. In 1972 he submitted the thesis “Absolute Stability of Nonlinear Control Systems” for the Doctor of science degree. By 1974 he was given the academic rank of professor.

He was elected a full member of Academy of Engineering in 1990 and then in 2000 he was elected as a Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Since 1964 E.S. Pyatnitskiy worked part time for the Institute of Control Sciences (called “IPU” in Russian) as an associate researcher. Then from 1972 till 1978 he worked part time as a senior researcher for the institute in the laboratory 25. In 1978 he headed a research group at IPU and also continued to work as a professor at MIPT. In 1982 he organized and lead the laboratory of “Dynamics of Nonlinear Control Systems” at IPU. He held this position until his death.

E.S. Pyatnitskiy has written more than 170 papers and 4 books on automatic control and mechanics. The main areas of E. S. Pyatnitskiy's work were: analysis, synthesis of nonlinear control systems, motion stability theory, theory of vibration and oscillation, robotic control, and biomechanics.

E. S. Pyatnitskiy established a new principle of classical mechanics, the so-called “minimax principle”. He developed the concept of decomposition for control of systems of mechanical nature. He also made contribution to the computer-based methods of stability analysis and nonlinear system control synthesis.

E.S. Pyatnitskiy introduced the variational method of analysis of stability of nonlinear control systems; established stability criteria for nonlinear dynamic systems in the form of matrix equation different from Lyapunov's equation.

E. S. Pyatnitskiy gave a whole series of results in the theory of discontinuous systems. He found a complete solution to the problem of control of the “black box” of mechanical nature. This enabled him to prepare the manuscript for the book “Theoretical Biomechanics”.

He was a proficient teacher who enjoyed his work, among his students there are twelve PhDs and three Doctors of science. Prof. Pyatnitskiy was an excellent organizer, due to his great enthusiasm, he was able to inspire all those around him. He was a member of the “National committee for automatic control”, a member of the editorial board of the journal “Automation and Remote Control” of the Russian Academy of Science and the journals “Transactions of Mechanical Engineers” and “Stability and Control. Theory and Applications”. For many years he lead the seminar in “Theory of Control in Dynamic Systems” and took part in the organization of All-Union and All-Russian seminars and conferences. He was the chairman of the committee for all of the conferences on “Robots and Flexible Industry Systems”, “Dynamics of Nonlinear Control Processes”.

In 1987 he organized the All-Union, later international workshop “Stability and Oscillations of Nonlinear Control Systems”, was the head of the section of the scientific council of IPU, and the deputy head of the Dissertation council at IPU.

And in addition to all positions he held he was a brilliant scientist generating new ideas until the very last day of his life.

Евгений Серафимович Пятницкий

Е.С. Пятницкий
22.07.1936 -- 03.04.2003

Евгений Серафимович Пятницкий – известный ученый, внесший весомый вклад в формирование и развитие теории автоматического управления. Научные труды Е.С. Пятницкого высоко оценены учеными как в России, так и за рубежом. Его именем назван настоящий Семинар.

Евгений Серафимович Пятницкий родился 22 июля 1936 года в городе Подбелевец (ныне район города Мценска) Орловской области, в семье школьного учителя. Закончив школу во Мценске в 1955 году, он продолжил обучение в Москве, в Московском физико-техническом институте.

После окончания МФТИ по специальности аэродинамика в 1960 году Евгений Серафимович начал работать преподавателем и научным сотрудником в Московском физико-техническом институте. Тогда началась его блестящая педагогическая карьера, продолжавшаяся более сорока лет.

В 1963 году Пятницкий защитил кандидатскую диссертацию по теме «Структурная устойчивость систем управления».

В 1966 году Е.С. Пятницкий получил звание доцента, в 1972 году он защитил докторскую диссертацию под названием «Абсолютная устойчивость управляемых систем», и в 1974 году стал профессором.

Е.С. Пятницкий в 1990 году был избран академиком Инженерной академии, а в 2000 году – член-корреспондентом Российской академии наук.

Начиная с 1964 года, наряду с преподавательской работой в Московском физико-техническом институте, Евгений Серафимович Пятницкий стал работать научным сотрудником, а с 1972 года старшим научным сотрудником в лаборатории 25 в Институте проблем управления. В 1978 году он возглавил исследовательскую группу, ставшую в 1982 году отдельной лабораторией в ИПУ, заведующим которой он оставался до конца своих дней.

Евгений Серафимович Пятницкий является автором более 170 научных работ, в том числе 4 монографий, по автоматическому управлению и механике. Наиболее значимые результаты Е.С. Пятницкого принадлежат областям анализа и синтеза нелинейных систем управления, теории устойчивости движения, теории колебаний и вибраций, управления роботами и биомеханики.

Е.С. Пятницкий предложил новый принцип классической механики, так называемый «минимаксный принцип». Им развита концепция декомпозиции для систем управления механической природы. Большой вклад Е.С. Пятницкий внес в развитие ориентированных на применение компьютера методов анализа устойчивости и синтеза нелинейных систем управления.

Е.С. Пятницкий предложил вариационный принцип анализа устойчивости нелинейных систем управления, обосновал критерий устойчивости нелинейных динамических систем в форме матричных уравнений, отличных от уравнений Ляпунова.

Е.С. Пятницкому принадлежит целый ряд результатов в теории разрывных систем. Он нашел полное решение задачи управления «черным ящиком» механической природы, которое легло в основу его концепции биомеханики, изложенной в его книге «Теоретическая биомеханика».

Евгений Серафимович Пятницкий был блестящим организатором, он готов был делиться со всеми своим неиссякающим энтузиазмом. Большую часть своей энергии отдавал научному руководству, среди его учеников двенадцать кандидатов и три доктора наук. На протяжении многих лет он входил в состав Национального комитета по автоматическому управлению, был членом редколлегии журнала РАН «Автоматика и телемеханика», а также журналов “Transactions of Mechanical Engineers” и “Stability and Control. Theory and Applications”. На протяжении многих лет под его руководством работал семинар «Теория управления динамических систем», он принимал участие во многочисленных российских и международных конференциях, был председателем оргкомитета конференции по роботам и гибким промышленным системам, конференции «Динамика нелинейных процессов управления».